D.E. "Skip" Brutkiewicz, Jr., LLC
Experienced Alabama Lawyer For Your Litigation Needs
Call Now - Free Consultation 251-472-9552

Hit-and-run vehicle collisions: Are they serious?

Picture this: You are on your way home when you accidentally rear-end someone. You don’t see any damage to the car, so you decide not to stop and continue on your way home.  A week later, the police contact you about the collision, calling it a hit-and-run.

You are surprised, as you thought there was no damage to the individual or the vehicle, and likely scared as you now face criminal charges. You are not alone, as multiple hit-and-run collisions occur every minute. What are the penalties for a hit-and-run, and how serious are they?

The severity of the charge depends on the severity of the vehicle collision

Even if the damage to the vehicle, or the injury to the individual, is not serious, the charges you can face are. Not only will a criminal conviction show up on your record, which will be visible on background checks, but you will also face fines and possible jail time. Penalties for Alabama hit-and-run vehicle collisions include:

  • Hitting and damaging a car without stopping, or hitting an unattended vehicle: Class A misdemeanor, up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $6,000.
  • Injuring or killing a person without stopping: Class C felony, between one and ten years in jail, up to $15,000 fine.

If you are involved in a vehicle collision, the best thing you can do is to stay there until the police arrive, or until you and the other driver sort things out. If you are already in a situation where you are facing hit-and-run charges, it is beneficial to know what the consequences are.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Contact

D.E. "Skip" Brutkiewicz, Jr., LLC
56 S. Conception St.
Mobile, AL 36602

Phone: 251-472-9552
Fax: 251-433-2043
Mobile Law Office Map