D.E. "Skip" Brutkiewicz, Jr., LLC
Experienced Alabama Lawyer For Your Litigation Needs
Call Now - Free Consultation 251-472-9552

Mobile Law Blog

Law enforcement making more arrests than ever before

In recent years, the number of arrests made by law enforcement has been surprising to say the least. In the United States, there are now more than 10.5 million arrests being made each year. When that is broken down, it correlates to an arrest every three seconds.

Most of the arrests fall into the category of noncriminal behavior, such as drug violations and low-level offenses. But it is drug offenses that are driving the number of arrests way up. In the last 40 years, there has been a 170 percent increase in the amount of arrests pertaining to drugs. On top of these staggering number of arrests, there are still many victims of crime who do not report their incident and only a small amount of crimes that are reported get solved.

Hit-and-run vehicle collisions: Are they serious?

Picture this: You are on your way home when you accidentally rear-end someone. You don’t see any damage to the car, so you decide not to stop and continue on your way home.  A week later, the police contact you about the collision, calling it a hit-and-run.

You are surprised, as you thought there was no damage to the individual or the vehicle, and likely scared as you now face criminal charges. You are not alone, as multiple hit-and-run collisions occur every minute. What are the penalties for a hit-and-run, and how serious are they?

In Alabama, driving implies your consent to a breathalyzer

After drinking, you enter your vehicle and attempt to drive. You commit a traffic violation, and an officer pulls you over and requests your participation in a field sobriety test. Worried they won’t pass the test without a DUI charge, many adults choose to refuse a breathalyzer.

Unfortunately, Alabama operates under implied consent when dealing with intoxicated drivers. Refusing to blow into a breathalyzer to determine your level of sobriety comes with serious charges – leaving you with the possibility of a DUI conviction and penalties for not submitting to a chemical test.

Ways to fight a DUI charge

Driving under the influence is a public health risk that Alabama takes extremely seriously. The punishments for a DUI charge can be severe even for first-time offenses. Penalties include a mandatory 90-day license suspension and hundreds of dollars in fines.

If you’re arrested and charged with a DUI, there are a few common defenses that may apply to you:

Does speeding really save you time?

Has this ever happened to you? It’s one of those mornings. You know the kind where everything seems to be going a little wrong. You hit snooze a few too many times, the dog has peed on the rug again, the coffee maker is acting up and you could only find one shoe. When it’s all said and cleaned up, you’re getting out the door 10 minutes late.

With a morning meeting on your schedule that you can’t be late for, you need to make up some time. Once you get on I-10, you decide to put the pedal to the metal. Before long you’re flying by semi-trucks, minivans and SUVs. That is, until the red lights come on behind you.

Vehicle collisions and when to call a lawyer

Accidents do happen. If you have been in a vehicle collision there are a lot of things you need to take care of to make a full recovery as quickly as possible. If the damage is light it’s between you and your insurance company to get you back on the road safely as soon as possible.

But sometimes it’s more severe. If one or more people was injured the costs can add up quickly. If the damage to your car or truck was heavy your insurance company may not give you the benefits you deserve. Those are times when a lawyer is needed, and if you aren’t sure it’s always best to give an attorney a call.


D.E. "Skip" Brutkiewicz, Jr., LLC
56 S. Conception St.
Mobile, AL 36602

Phone: 251-472-9552
Fax: 251-433-2043
Mobile Law Office Map